初审法院

litigation-small

Law Firm in Bangkok, Thailand

在英国普通法体系和欧洲(大陆)民法制度的影响下,泰国已经实施了民法或法典的法律制度;然而,泰国法律的实践并不像美国和英国那样全面。一般来说,民法或法典使用一个特定国家成立的法律机构,然后由法院来解释。民事法律体系是审问形式,没有伤势调查,在上交法院前根据不同案件的情况,通过事实和法律约束以专业的法官的判断力来评审解决。因此,前例不一定需要作为实施问题被遵循,这一点是有争议的,因为他们与参考前例不同。

 

宪法是泰国最高法院的约束法律,同时还有数以千计的法律,如,议会、行政机构和法院不定时的规定的法案,包括但不限于法令和政府通知和规章。宪法法院,在宪法的约束下,处理解决递交的草案是否具有法律效力的相关问题。行政法院处理私营部门、政府和国家机关之间的纠纷和诉讼问题,军事法庭专门针对武装部队的刑事案件问题。法庭,泰国民事和刑事法院制度,是由一审法院、上诉法院和最高法院(迪卡)组成的。中央和九个区域上诉法院听取全国各地的民事和刑事案件,无论是对下级法院的判决予以重申、驳回、撤销或修改。最高法院(迪卡)位于曼谷,仅听取受理法律要点和/或事实要点,即重要案件;然后,当上诉时专门法院案件往往直接进入最高法院。其决定是最终决定,但不会将前案例作为新案例来处理。下级法院应遵循最高法院的决定执行,尽管在不同事实要点上做出挑战通常是预料到的,但最后,最终判决是由法院决定的。

 

一审法院

泰国一审法院位于曼谷和100个省区内,包括民事和刑事法院,省级法院,区级法院,少年家庭法院,专门法院-中央知识产权和国际贸易法院,中央劳动法院,中央破产法院,和中央税务法院。在泰国,审理案件的法官树木取决于相关法院的管理范围,可以是一个,三个或五个法官,大多数民事和刑事法庭由三位专业的法官来成立一个法庭。位于曼谷市区内的一审法院是民事法院,刑事法院,专门法院,南曼谷法院,吞武里法院,少年和家庭法院,民布里法院,和七个区级法院。在有限的管辖范围内覆盖了刑事和民事案件,区级法院以一位法官操作,来处理小纠纷或小案件,通常具有速战速决或概括性判决的特点。泰国其他一审法院分别为96个省级法院,这些法院覆盖了民事和刑事案件,27个区级法院和29个少年和家庭法院。

 

少年和家庭法院主要判决18岁以下儿童的刑事及民事案件,以及及家庭民事案件。针对不同年龄的少年,也有不同的规则和处理程序,在这些法院中,“孩子”被定义为一个年龄不超过五岁的儿童,“少年”被定义为一个年龄介于五岁到十八岁的青少年。在少年和家庭法院进行案件受理前,必须由两名职业法官和两名副法官,一名妇女,出席以形成一个四名法官组成的法庭进行法庭聆讯和裁决。所有法官必须具有有关少年法律和家庭案件的良好知识和经验。在泰国管辖范围内,少年和家庭法庭由中央法院,大都会法院和29个省级法院组成。对少年和家庭法庭判决或命令不服时,可向上级法院起诉。

legal-service_39

Charn Issara Tower I, 9/Fl. 942/142-3 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Tel (66) 2233-0055, 2233-0068 Fax (66) 2236-6681, 2233-0227, 2233-0097.


Copyright © 2014 Dej-Udom & Associates – All Rights Reserved.

Thailand’s Courts of First Instance

litigation-small

Law Firm in Bangkok, Thailand

The Kingdom of Thailand has practically adopted a civil or codified law system influenced by the United Kingdom’s common law system and European (Continental) civil law systems; however, the practice of law in Thailand is not as comprehensive as that in the United States and the United Kingdom. In general, civil law or codified law uses the body of law established by a particular country which is then interpreted by its courts. Civil law systems are inquisitorial, have no trial by jury, and use only professional judges who rule on a case-by-case basis by rationalizing and adjudicating the points of fact and points of law being disputed before the court. Thus, precedents need not necessarily be followed as factual issues are regularly arguable that they are not similar to the referred precedents.

 

The Constitution is the supreme law of the Kingdom and there are thousands of organic laws, i.e., acts, which include, but are not limited to, decrees and governmental notifications and regulations, and are regulated from time to time by the Parliament, the administrative agencies, and the courts. The Constitutional Court settles matters pertaining to issues of validating or invalidating the laws in draft bills under the Constitution. The Administrative Court settles any disputes and litigation between the private sector, the Government, and State organs, and the Military Court is specifically for criminal cases in the armed forces. The Court of Justice, the Kingdom’s civil and criminal court system, is comprised of the Courts of First Instance, the Courts of Appeal, and the Supreme Court (Dika). The Central and nine Regional Courts of Appeal hear civil and criminal cases from all parts of the country and either reaffirm, dismiss, reverse, or amend the lower courts’ decisions. The Supreme Court (Dika) is located in Bangkok and only hears appeals on points of law and/or points of fact which are important material issues; nevertheless, often Specialized Court cases go directly to the Supreme Court when under appeal. Its decisions are final, but not binding as precedents for new cases though. Lower courts tend to follow the decisions of the Supreme Court, nonetheless a challenge on points of different facts is normally expected, and ultimately, a final judgment is at the discretion of the court.

 

The Courts of First Instance

Thailand’s Courts of First Instance are located in Bangkok and all 110 provinces and districts and include the Civil and Criminal Courts, the Provincial Courts, the District (Kweang) Courts, the Juvenile and Family Courts, and the Specialized Courts – the Central Intellectual Property and International Trade Court, the Central Labour Court, the Central Bankruptcy Court, and the Central Tax Court. In Thailand, the number of judges who hear a case varies from one, three or five depending on the relevant court’s jurisdiction, and most Civil and Criminal Courts utilize three professional judges to make up a tribunal. The First Instance Courts located in Bangkok Metropolis are the Civil Court, the Criminal Court, the Specialized Courts, the Southern Bangkok Courts, the Thonburi Courts, the Juvenile and Family Court, the Minbury Provincial Court, and seven Kweang Courts. Covering both criminal and civil cases with limited jurisdiction, the Kweang Courts operate with a single judge and deal with small matters and petty cases and are characterized by speedy trials and oral or summarized judgments. The First Instance Courts in the rest of the Kingdom are the 96 Provincial Courts which cover civil and criminal cases, the 27 Kweang Courts, and the 29 Juvenile and Family Courts.

 

The Juvenile and Family Courts adjudicate criminal and civil cases for children under 18 years of age and family civil cases. There are also different rules and procedures for children of varying ages, and in these courts, a ‘Child’ is defined as a person not more than five years old and a ‘Juvenile’ is defined as a person between five and eighteen years old. For any matter before the Juvenile and Family Court, two career judges and two associate judges, one a woman, must be present to form a four judge tribunal for hearings and adjudication. All judges must possess competent knowledge and be experienced in juvenile law and family case matters. With jurisdiction over all of Thailand, the Juvenile and Family Courts are made up of the Central Court in Bangkok, the Metropolitan Courts, and the 29 Provincial Courts. All appeals against a judgment or order of the Juvenile and Family Courts go to the Courts of Appeal.

 

Contact: Punjaporn Koslkitiwong | Email: punjaporn@dejudom.com| Telephone: (66) 2233 0055

legal-service_39

Charn Issara Tower I, 9/Fl. 942/142-3 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Tel (66) 2233-0055, 2233-0068 Fax (66) 2236-6681, 2233-0227, 2233-0097.


Copyright © 2014 Dej-Udom & Associates – All Rights Reserved.